THE Pearls of Ruth

What Are The Pearls of Ruth?

In the narrative, Ruth is not an Israelite but rather is from Moab; she marries an Israelite. Both her husband and her father-in-love die, and she helps her mother-in-love, Naomi, find protection. The Pearls of Ruth describe her unfailing desire to stand in her purpose.


The Pearls of Ruth consists of 

  • Wisdom - despite any fears, Ruth did not allow her past to define or hold her back. She moved in wisdom to stay with her widowed mother-in-love, Naomi, and refused to depart from her. Although she might have been in mourning, she pressed forward into a deeper purpose. 

  • Humility - Ruth was a humble woman. She exuded meekness, servility, and self-abnegation. She gave of herself to her mother-in-love without failure. 

  • Obedience - Ruth was obedient and knew how to follow instructions. In her obedience, she was an active listener. She followed the instructions of Naomi and eventually, Boaz. In her obedience, she did not fret or waiver. 

  • Submissiveness - Ruth was the epitome of submissiveness. In her obedience, she followed the instructions of Boaz, which was for her protection. Even though she had her own mind, she followed his lead.

  • Serenity - Ruth was not argumentative. She had no drama. She pleasant and polite. She was friendly and knew her place in the lives of the people she loved and who loved her. She had a peaceful spirit, despite all that she endured.

  • Empowerment - her life might not have started out in the best of ways. After losing her husband, father-in-love, and brother-in-love, having no children with her husband, being discriminated against from the Israelites, Ruth stood in her power as God's woman. 

  • Respect - Ruth honored Boaz when she became his wife. She gave him the Ephesians 5:22. She walked in love and she admired him.

Image by Ashton Mullins

Pearls of Wisdom


Pearls of Humility


Pearls of



Pearls of Submissiveness


Pearls of



Pearls of Empowerment


Pearls of Respect